NRHEG PUBLIC SCHOOL ISD #2168 BOARD OF EDUCATION ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING Tuesday, January 2, 2018 at 5:30PM

MINUTES

- 1. Meeting called to order by Chairman, Rick Schultz, at 5:32 PM
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- **4. Roll Call:** Karen Flatness, JoAnn Maloney, Travis Routh, Neil Schlaak, Dan Schmidt, Rick Schultz and Mark Tollefson. Also in attendance: Superintendent Dale Carlson, Deb Bently and Sue Kulseth.
- **5. Approve Agenda:** Moved by Neil Schlaak, seconded by Karen Flatness to approve the agenda. Motion carried 7-0.
- **6.** Approve Minutes of the Truth in Taxation Meeting of December 18, 2017 and the Regular Meeting of December 18, 2017: Moved by Travis Routh, seconded by Dan Schmidt to approve the Minutes of the Truth in Taxation Meeting and the Regular Meeting of December 18, 2017. Motion Carried 7-0.
- 8. Board Organization:
 - a. Election of 2017 School Board Officers:

<u>CHAIR</u>—Neil Schlaak nominated Rick Schultz for Chair of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Rick Schultz who was re-elected Board Chair.

<u>VICE CHAIR</u>—Neil Schlaak nominated JoAnn Maloney for Vice Chair of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to JoAnn Maloney who was re-elected Board Vice Chair.

<u>Clerk</u>—Neil Schlaak nominated Karen Flatness for Clerk of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Karen Flatness who was re-elected Board Clerk.

<u>TREASURER</u>—Neil Schlaak nominated Travis Routh for Treasurer of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Travis Routh who was re-elected Board Treasurer.

Congratulations to our four officers for 2018. Thank you for your service and leadership.

8b. Assign School Board Committees:

Chair appointed Travis Routh, JoAnn Maloney, Karen Flatness for the finance committee.

Chair appointed JoAnn Maloney, Dan Schmidt, Rick Schultz for the policy committee.

Chair appointed Travis Routh, Neil Schlaak, Rick Schultz for the building and grounds committee.

Chair appointed Karen Flatness, Neil Schlaak, Mark Tollefson for the transportation committee.

Chair appointed Travis Routh, Dan Schmidt, Mark Tollefson for the school activities committee.

Chair appointed Rick Schultz, Travis Routh, Dan Schmidt negotiations committee for Paraprofessionals Union.

Chair appointed Karen Flatness, Neil Schlaak, Rick Schultz negotiations committee for the AFSCME Union.

Chair appointed Dan Schmidt, Neil Schlaak, Mark Tollefson negotiations committee for the Certified Staff.

- **8c. Set the Depositories for 2018:** Moved by Karen Flatness, seconded by Dan Schmidt to approve the official depositories for fiscal 2018: State Bank of New Richland and the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund. Motion carried 7-0.
- **8d.** Authorization of Investments/Electronic Funds Transfers **2018**: Moved by Mark Tollefson, seconded by Karen Flatness to authorize the Superintendent of Schools to make appropriate investments and electronic fund transfers of district funds. Motion carried 7-0.
- **8e. Set the Official Newspaper for 2018**: Moved by Dan Schmidt, seconded by JoAnn Maloney to approve the Star Eagle as the official newspaper for fiscal 2018. Motion carried 7-0.
- **8f. Set the Regular Board Meeting Date, Time and Location:** Moved by Dan Schmidt, seconded by Karen Flatness to hold the regular monthly School Board meeting on the third Monday of each month at 6:30 pm, with the exception of Tuesday, January 16, 2018, and Thursday, February 22, 2018, due to January 16 and February 20 being holidays. The location of the meetings will alternate every month. The Elementary Media Center will be January, March, May, July, September, November and the Secondary Media Center will be February, April, June, August, October and December. Motion carried 7-0.

2018 School Board Meeting Dates, Locations and Times

| Tuesday, January 16, 2018 | Elementary Media Center at 6:30pm |
|-----------------------------|-----------------------------------|
| Thursday, February 22, 2018 | Secondary Media Center at 6:30pm |
| Monday, March 19, 2018 | Elementary Media Center at 6:30pm |
| Monday, April 16, 2018 | Secondary Media Center at 6:30pm |
| Monday, May 21, 2018 | Elementary Media Center at 6:30pm |
| Monday, June 18, 2018 | Secondary Media Center at 6:30pm |
| Monday, July 16, 2018 | Elementary Media Center at 6:30pm |
| Monday, August 20, 2018 | Secondary Media Center at 6:30pm |
| Monday, September 17, 2018 | Elementary Media Center at 6:30pm |

| Monday, October 15, 2018 | Secondary Media Center at 6:30pm |
|---------------------------|-----------------------------------|
| Monday, November 19, 2018 | Elementary Media Center at 6:30pm |
| Monday, December 17, 2018 | Secondary Media Center at 6:30pm |

8g. Set Board Member Compensation: Moved by Karen Flatness to keep the compensation as it currently is, (\$50) for regular/special meetings and (\$100) for a full-day meeting or workshop. Additional compensation: (\$200) Chair, (\$150) Clerk and (\$100) Treasurer. No second, the motion falls to the floor.

Set Board Member Compensation: Moved by Neil Schlaak, to approve the board member compensation at (\$100) for regular/special meetings and (\$150) for a full-day meeting or workshop. Additional compensation no change (\$200) Chair, (\$150) Clerk and (\$100) Treasurer. No second, the motion falls to the floor.

Set Board Member Compensation: Moved by Neil Schlaak, seconded by Mark Tollefson to approve the board member compensation at (\$75) for regular/special meetings and (\$125) for a full-day meeting or workshop. Additional compensation no change: (\$200) Chair, (\$150) Clerk and (\$100) Treasurer. Motion carried 6-1. Karen Flatness voted no.

10. Adjournment: Moved by Travis Routh, seconded by Neil Schlaak to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried 7-0. Meeting adjourned at 7:03pm.

| Submitted by Karen Flatness, Clerk | | |
|------------------------------------|--|--|
| | | |
| Clerk | | |